Hall of Fame Induction Now Set for April 9, 2022

After three postponements due to the coronavirus, the Blair County Sports Hall of Fame has rescheduled its 19th induction banquet for April 9, 2022 at the Blair County Convention Center.

“It’s been a long and frustrating ordeal for the Hall of Fame and its honorees,” Hall president Neil Rudel said. “But our goal from the beginning was to conduct our event safely, and although waiting another year isn’t ideal, our board of directors, inductees and stakeholders all agreed it was the right thing to do. We appreciate everybody’s patience.”

The induction was originally scheduled for May 2, 2020. It was then postponed until Jan. 23, 2021, and then again until May 22, 2021.

Set for induction are John Hayes (football), John Lingenfelter (auto racing), Eric Malone (watercraft sports), Eddie Miller (basketball), Tawney Nardozza Schmitt (swimming) and the 1970 Bishop Guilfoyle High School boys basketball team. Julie Roseborough will receive the Hall’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Former NFL quarterback Doug Flutie, 1984 Heisman Trophy winner, remains committed to serve as the guest speaker.

The Hall is reviewing ticket orders and will be in touch with its patrons. Kathy Millward of the Hall of Fame board handles tickets and can be reached at [email protected]. Please email rather than calling.

For more information on the Hall of fame, visit www.blaircountysportshof.com.