1999 Tyrone Area High School Football Team
2012 Team Inductee

The 1999 Tyrone Area High School football team, which captured the PIAA Class AA title, was inducted into the Blair County Sports Hall of Fame in 2012. Team members present included, from left: Nate Verilla, Brad Owlett, Jerry Wilson, Jason Crowell, Jamal Owens, Josh Lucas, Steve Johnson, Charles Otto, Joe Lehner. Middle row: Jesse Jones, Ryan Hildebrand, assistant coach Darrin Elvey, assistant coach John Gressler, equipment manager Al Shoenberger, head coach John Franco, honorary team member Ben Roethlisberger (the Hall’s guest speaker), assistant coach Rick Hatch,  assistant coach Chuck Banas, assistant coach Dan Bender, assistant coach Luke Rhoades, trainer Heidi Banas Bloom. Back row: ballboy Johnny Franco, ballboy  McConnell, Ben Johnson, Evan Klesius, Brad Tuskovich, Bryan Conrad, Dave McCahan, Brandon Hoover, Eric Latchford, Garrett Desch, Tyker Mertiff, Scott Gummo, Pat McNelis, Mike McNelis.  Team members not present include assistant coach John Meredith, assistant coach Tony Yaniello, trainer Craig Sechler, Tim Dry, Dan Miller, Tae Ayers, Adam Kobuck, Josh Taylor, Chris Woomer, Justin Moore, David Bauer, Mike Mueller, Jon Medina, Doug Roseberry, Tony Lalli, Mike Whitby, Eric Sloss, John Nye, Brian Moore, Clayton Ellenberger, Larry Thompson, Jason Kurtz and Ron Shoenberger.

Year inducted: 2012
Sport: Football
Hall of Fame achievementThe Tyrone Area High School football team, coached by John Franco, finished unbeaten and captured the PIAA Class AA title — the first Blair County and District 6 team to win a state football championship.

Click Here To View the
Hall of Fame Profile
for the 1999 TAHS Football Team